Forester Night recognizes outstanding students, faculty

Huntington, Ind.—The 37th Annual Forester Night was held May 6 in the Zurcher Auditorium of the Huntington University Merillat Centre for the Arts. Foresters of the Year, Alpha Chi honor society’s Outstanding Scholar of the Year Award, and the Outstanding Senior Awards from various academic departments were all given to several Huntington University graduating seniors. Foresters of the Year are voted on by the Huntington University student body.

Adam Shoemaker
Sara Kessie, an entrepreneurship/small business major from Columbia City, Ind., was named Female Forester of the Year. Adam Shoemaker, a not-for-profit management major from Sheridan, Ind., was named Male Forester of the Year.

Christianne Gates, a history major from Hodges, S.C., was honored with the prestigious Outstanding Scholar of the Year Award, given by vote of fellow Alpha Chi members to the outstanding graduate in the Indiana Beta chapter of Alpha Chi Honor Society at Huntington University.

Christianne Gates
Criteria taken into account for the award include academic excellence, contributions to the academic climate of Huntington University, contributions to Alpha Chi and its activities and personal excellence. Gates served as vice president of Alpha Chi for the spring 2008 semester.

For the Outstanding Senior Awards, faculty voted to select outstanding seniors from their respective departments and then presented plaques to the individuals on Forester Night. Departmental recipients included

Chris Hoffman
Department of Bible and Religion

Christina Warner, a Bible and religion major from Bloomington, Ind.

Department of Biology

Travis Schamber, a biology/pre-med major from Van Buren, Ind.

Katie Jo Brown
Department of Business

Chris Hoffman, an entrepreneurship/small business major from Fort Wayne, Ind.

Department of Chemistry

Levi Wilson, a chemistry/pre-med major Knightdale, N.C.

Department of Education

Katie Jo Brown, an elementary education from Eaton Rapids, Mich.

Tyler Welker
Department of Communication

Tyler Welker, a digital media arts major from Wooster, Ohio

Department of English and Modern Languages

Brett Jenkins, an English major from Pierson, Fla.

Anna Grace Jeter, an English education major from Findlay, Ohio

Brett Jenkins
Department of History

Christianne Gates, a history major from Hodges, S.C.

Department of Kinesiology and Recreation Management

Sarah Kaufman, a recreation management major from Ada, Mich.

Rachel Warrick, an exercise science major from Wooster, Ohio

Heidi Christner, a physical education major from Shipshewana, Ind.

Anna Grace Jeter
Department of Mathematics and Computer Science

Andrew Hetrick, a computer science major from Fort Wayne, Ind.

Kevin Keller, a mathematics major from Strasburg, Pa.

Department of Ministry and Missions

Kyle Brenneman, a worship leadership major from Spencerville, Ohio

Department of Music

Aaron Eberly, an instrumental music education major from Ligonier, Ind.

Sarah Kaufman
Department of Psychology

Carmen Schlatter, a psychology major from Fort Wayne, Ind.

Department of Social Work

Jenna Rumple, a social work major from Warren, Ind.

Department of Sociology

Emily Horne, a psychology major from Columbia City, Ind.

Rachel Warrick
Department of Theatre Arts

Kristen Kohaut, a theatre performance major from Mount Olive, N.J.

Department of Visual Arts

Trista Watson, a visual art education major from Chambersburg, Pa.

Professor of the Year, an honor voted on by Huntington University student body, was given to Dave McEowen, assistant professor of business. He has taught at the university for 11 years.

Heidi Christner
McEowen has 25 years of significant business experience with companies such as Eastman Kodak, McJon Photo, Fuji USA and ranging from large multi-national to entrepreneurial, sales and operations management to owner-president. He was owner-president of McJon Photo in Fort Wayne, Ind., with eleven locations before selling the company to Fuji TruColor, and becoming an executive with Fuji USA, including most recently vice president and general manager of the Eastern Region.

Kevin Keller
He held significant leadership positions in the Photo Marketing Association International, which has 16,000 members in 87 countries, becoming president of the PMA after having served as international treasurer and vice president; he was a PMA convention speaker on many occasions.

McEowen has a bachelor’s degree from Purdue University in economics and management (1970) and an MBA from St. Francis in finance (1984). He has completed additional graduate study from the Rochester Institute of Technology in New York.

Kyle Brenneman

Aaron Eberly

Kristen Kohaut

Trista Watson

Dave McEowen, assistant professor of business

Dave McEowen, assistant professor of business, (left) receives the Professor of the Year Award from Dr. Norris Friesen, vice president and dean of the university.

Travis Schamber (left) receives the Department of Biology Award from Dr. Bruce Evans, associate professor of biology.

Kyle Brenneman (left) hugs Dr. Bob Myers, assistant professor of worship leadership, after receiving the Department of Ministry and Missions Award.

Carmen Schlatter receives the Department of Psychology Award from Dr. Wayne Priest, associate professor of psychology.

Jenna Rumple (left) receives the Department of Social Work Award from Carla MacDonald, assistant professor of social work.

# # #

Huntington University is a comprehensive Christian college of the liberal arts offering graduate and undergraduate programs in more than 70 academic concentrations. U.S.News & World Report ranks Huntington among the best colleges in the Midwest. Founded in 1897 by the Church of the United Brethren in Christ, Huntington University is located on a contemporary, lakeside campus in northeast Indiana. The University is a member of the Council for Christian Colleges and Universities (CCCU).  


Heather Barkley
Director of Communications
Joanne Green
Sports Information Director