Huntington University's history & political science program offers several opportunities for Huntington University history majors to receive financial awards and prizes for academic achievements. These incentives are the result of grateful and committed alumni and friends of the department. We are very thankful for their financial support of superior academic activity in the study of history.

The S. G. Whittle Johnston Memorial Award in History

The S.G. Whittle Johnston Memorial Award in History is an annual academic award in Huntington University's history & political science program inaugurated in 2003. It was established by a 1989 Huntington University alumna and history major to honor the memory of Dr. S.G. Whittle Johnston, professor of international relations at the University of Virginia, where he taught American foreign policy and international politics courses from 1971-1995. Professor Johnston, who passed away in 1996, was the donor's mentor, graduate advisor and personal friend. Professor Johnston served on President-elect Ronald Reagan's foreign policy transition team, was a member of The Committee on the Present Danger, and a recipient of Harvard University's prestigious Sumner Prize in 1959 for the university's most outstanding doctoral dissertation.

By funding this award, the donor wishes to encourage upper-level history students in their study of history. The award is given to the junior or senior history major who submits the most outstanding work of original scholarship. Department faculty then select the winner from the pool of submissions. The winner receives a plaque and a significant cash award.

Recent S. G. Whittle Johnston Memorial Award in History Recipients:

2017 — Mr. Thomas Brown
2016 — Mr. Tyler Herber 
2015 — Ms. Joanna Hersey
2014 — Ms. Stephanie Morin
2013 — Mr. Andrew Wickersham
2012 — Mr. Jonathan Brenneman 
2011 — Ms. Elizabeth Holtrop 
2010 — Ms. Jandra Sutton
2009 — Mr. Matt Schownir
2008 — Ms. Christianne Gates
2007 — Ms. Christianne Gates
2006 — Mr. Rick Klinedinst
2005 — Mr. Dwight Simon
2004 — Mr. Dwight Simon
2003 — Ms. Joni Michaud

Back to top of page

The Ron Frank Memorial Endowment in History

The Frank Fund was established in 1973 to honor the memory of Ron Frank, a Huntington University history major who passed away during the spring semester of his senior year. Donors to the fund sincerely desire to provide financial assistance to history majors while also memorializing Ron Frank. The endowment funds three awards:

Recent Ron Frank Memorial Award for Outstanding Scholarship in History Recipients:

2016 — Mr. Tyler Herber 
2015 — Ms. Joanna Hersey; Mrs. Amy Landhuis; Mr. Samuel Thompson; and Mr. Andrew Wickersham
2014 — Not Awarded
2013 — Ms. Jessica Emmert
2012 — Mr. Jonathan Brenneman
2011 — Ms. Elizabeth Holtrop and Ms. Susanne Shepherdson 
2010 — Not Awarded
2009 — Ms. Naomi Woods and Mr. Chris Sutton
2008 — Ms. Christianne Gates
2007 — Not Awarded
2006 — Mr. Kevin Krauskopf
2005 — Ms. Joni Michaud and Mr. Dwight Simon
2004 — Not Awarded
2003 — Ms. Erinn Caley and Ms. Carrie Reese
2002 — Mr. Russ Degitz
2001 — Ms. Molly Deuberry; Ms. Amy C. Smith; Mr. Cam Warner; and Mr. Mike Yates
2000 — Ms. Rachael Hinkle and Ms. Heather Hirschy

Back to top of page