Christ. Scholarship. Service.

Thirteen HU teams earn NAIA Scholar Team honors

Home / News / Thirteen HU teams earn NAIA Scholar Team honors

HUNTINGTON, Ind. - The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has announced that 1,502 athletic programs have been given the distinction of Scholar-Teams for the 2014-15 academic year. Of the 14 Huntington University teams eligible to be nominated, 13 teams earned this honor.

“Huntington University’s commitment to scholarship can be seen in the quality of its faculty, the rigorous coursework required of it students and the success of its graduates,” said athletic director Lori Culler. “As athletic director I’m very pleased to say that this commitment is also visible in the athletic arena. 

“I commend our coaching staff and our student-athletes for the tangible way they have displayed the value they place on scholarship.”

For a team to be considered for the NAIA Scholar-Team award, it must have a minimum 3.0 grade-point average (on a 4.0 scale) as defined by the institution. The team grade-point average includes all eligible varsity student-athletes.

 Women's Cross Country  3.694  Tom King
 Women's Basketball  3.572  Lori Culler
 Men's Cross Country  3.495  Tom King
 Women's Soccer  3.457  Chris Tillett
 Men's Golf  3.411  Pete Schownir
 Women's Track & Field  3.401  Tom King
 Men's Tennis  3.345  Kreg Eckert
 Volleyball  3.326  Kyle Shondell
 Men's Track & Field  3.229  Tom King
 Softball   3.199  Doug Gower
 Men's Soccer  3.193  Russ Lawson
 Women's Tennis  3.180  Roger Ferguson
 Men's Basketball  3.005  Ty Platt

The Huntington University Foresters compete in 16 intercollegiate sports for men and women. In the past decade, Huntington has produced 38 NAIA All-America honors and 222 All-America Scholar Athlete honors. Huntington University is a comprehensive Christian college of the liberal arts offering graduate and undergraduate programs in more than 70 academic concentrations.U.S.News & World Report ranks Huntington among the best colleges in the Midwest.