Christ. Scholarship. Service.

Women finish 4th, men take 11th at annual Little State

Home / News / Women finish 4th, men take 11th at annual Little State

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. Competing against a host of other Hoosier schools at the annual Indiana Intercollegiate Little State on the campus of Purdue University Friday afternoon, the Huntington women's cross country team finished 4th amidst a field of 20 teams while the Forester men claimed 11th out of 20 teams.

The women ran a three-mile race instead of their standard 5K with only 37 seconds separating the Huntington women's top five finishers. Gretchen (Spahr) Pyper paced the HU pack by clocking in with an 18:58 to cross the line 17th out of 148 runners.

Hannah Moore posted a 19:05 to claim 22nd while Krista Wood (19:15) and Christine Sparks (19:20) finished within five seconds of each other to finish 27th and 30th respectively. Erin Rockey ran a 19:35 for 43rd place to round out her team's scoring.

Other HU runners included Natalie Spahr (47th, 19:50) and Marie Ditzler (75th, 20:34).

Taylor University captured the women's title with 44 points. Rounding out the top five included the University of Indianapolis (55), DePauw (119), HU (138) and Marian (155).

The Huntington men were led by freshman Zach McIntyre who ran a 27:53 to place 47th out of 150 runners.

Eric Baker came in next for the Foresters in 28:04 to finish 53rd. Thirty seconds later, Austin Presnell crossed the line to place 69th. Brian Menzie (28:53) and Codi Wiersema (29:20) rounded out HU's scoring by finishing 85th and 94th respectively. Josh Graham finished 131st in 31:40.

Wabash College took home the men's title with 26 points. Other finishers in front of HU included the University of Indianapolis (46), Indiana Tech (104), Taylor (138), DePauw (183), Marian (202), Manchester (203), Rose-Hulman (204), Trine (282), Hanover (291). Huntington finished with 336 points to finish one spot ahead of Grace College (346).

The Foresters have another two-week break before competing in the Grace College Invitational on October 4.