Alpha Chi honor society inducts new members for 2011


HUNTINGTON, Ind. — Huntington University inducted 19 new members into the Indiana Beta Chapter of Alpha Chi during a convocation held Oct. 7. Membership in Alpha Chi is the highest academic honor at Huntington University and represents both a recognition of scholastic achievement and a commitment to promoting academic excellence and integrity on and off campus as well as service.

The Indiana Beta Chapter of Alpha Chi National College Honor Scholarship Society was established in 1967 and is one of more than 300 chapters in Alpha Chi. It is active in the regional and national activities of Alpha Chi and was named the National Chapter of the Year in 2001. This past year, for the 16th consecutive year, The Indiana Beta Chapter was selected as a Star Chapter of Alpha Chi. It is one of four chapters to have received this award every year since its inception in 1996.

The following students were inducted into the Alpha Chi chapter for 2011:


Shanay Anderson (right), a junior animation major from Ballwin, Mo.

Andrew Salo (left), a senior animation major from Waconia, Minn.

(with Steve Leeper, associate professor of digital media arts, at the podium)
Isaac Beal, a junior math and math education double major from Greenfield, Ind.

(with Dr. Francis Jones, professor emeritus of mathematical sciences, at the podium)
Lindsey Belland (right), a junior nursing major from Galesburg, Mich.

Aaron James Lehman (left), a junior nursing major from Berne, Ind.

Rachel Peery (middle), a junior nursing major from Goshen, Ind.

(with Dr. Margaret Winter, director of nursing, at the podium)
Daniel Binkoski (left), a junior entrepreneurial/small business management from Adrian, Mich.

Jamon Hammel (right), a senior accounting and business management major from Andrews, Ind.

(with Anita Wickersham, associate professor of accounting and business)
Stacie Cressman, a junior chemistry major from Sturgis, Mich.

(with Dr. Bill Bordeaux, professor of chemistry, at the podium)
Laura Fears, a junior worship leadership major from Sheboygan, Wis.

(with Dr. Melanie Ross, assistant professor of worship leadership, at the podium)
Anthony Frederick (left), a junior film production major from Portage, Ind.

David Schell (right), a junior film production major from Huntington, Ind.

(with Dr. Lance Clark, associate professor of digital media arts film and communication, at the podium)
Preston Hoobler, a junior chemistry education major from Marion, Iowa

(with Dr. Ruth Nalliah, professor of chemistry, at the podium)
Christina Joelle Kriebel, a junior English major from Brookston, Ind.

(with Dr. Todd Martin, professor of English, at the podium)
Kristen Lahman, a senior elementary education major from North Manchester, Ind.

(with Dr. Evelyn Priddy, professor of education, at the podium)
Megan Storch, a junior elementary education major from Fort Wayne, Ind.

(with Dr. Luke Fetters, associate professor of ministry and missions, at the podium)
Jessica Sweeney (left), a junior elementary education and English education major from Blissfield, Mich.

Abbey Wise (right), a junior elementary education and middle grades education major from Frankfort, Ill.

(with Dr. Susie Burson, assistant professor of education, at the podium)
Jacob Willinger, a junior psychology major from Grabill, Ind.

(with Tanner Babb, instructor of psychology, at the podium)
Huntington University is a comprehensive Christian college of the liberal arts offering graduate and undergraduate programs in more than 70 academic concentrations. U.S. News & World Report ranks Huntington among the best colleges in the Midwest, and has listed the university as one of America’s Best Colleges. Additionally, Princeton Review has named the institution to its “Best in the Midwest” list. Founded in 1897 by the Church of the United Brethren in Christ, Huntington University is located on a contemporary, lakeside campus in northeast Indiana. The university is a member of the Council for Christian Colleges and Universities (CCCU).


Heather Barkley
Director of Communications
Joanne Green
Sports Information Director