Morin receives Huntington University’s 2014 Johnston Award

 Stephanie Morin
Stephanie Morin

HUNTINGTON, Ind. — The Huntington University history department has honored Stephanie Morin with the S.G. Whittle Johnston Memorial Award. The award goes to the junior or senior history major who submits the most outstanding work of original scholarship.

Morin, a senior history and public relations major from Gorham, Maine, who graduated this spring, received the award for her paper on “Jinnah’s Pakistan: The Transformation of the Communal Problem in India to an International Dilemma.”

“Stephanie is a highly motivated and engaging student,” said Dr. Tim Smith, associate professor of history. “Her argument and understanding of history have been of an excellent standard, demonstrating a high degree of insight, perception and intellectual vigor. She is highly regarded by the entire history faculty at Huntington University, and she is a worthy winner of the 2014 S.G. Whittle Johnston prize.”

Morin received a plaque and a cash prize.

Established in 2003, the S. G. Whittle Johnston Memorial Award in History is an annual academic award in the Department of History and Political Science. It was established by a 1989 Huntington University alumna and history major to honor the memory of Dr. S.G. Whittle Johnston, professor of international relations at the University of Virginia, where he taught American foreign policy and international politics courses from 1971-1995.

Huntington University is a comprehensive Christian college of the liberal arts offering graduate and undergraduate programs in more than 70 academic concentrations. U.S. News & World Report ranks Huntington among the best colleges in the Midwest, and has listed the university as one of America’s Best Colleges. Additionally, Princeton Review has named the institution a “Best Midwestern College.” Founded in 1897 by the Church of the United Brethren in Christ, Huntington University is located on a contemporary, lakeside campus in northeast Indiana. The university is a member of the Council for Christian Colleges and Universities (CCCU).


Heather Barkley
Director of Communications
Joanne Green
Sports Information Director