Four Foresters named All-Conference

 The Mid-Central Conference (MCC) has announced its baseball awards for the spring 2007 season. Four Huntington University Foresters received All-Conference honors.

Junior Korey Grow earned his second consecutive All-Conference honor as an outfielder, Thad Frame was the top shortstop in the MCC, Drew Taylor was one of four pitchers selected and Andrew Drummond was the designated hitter choice. Spring Arbor pitcher Jesse Bachman repeated as the MCC Player of the Year and Sam Riggleman, Spring Arbor’s head coach, was named Coach of the Year.

Drummond is the Foresters’ top hitter batting .397 on the season and slugging .540. Frame has a.362 batting average, 25 RBI and a team-high four triples on the season. Grow is hitting .374, has 28 RBI and has a team-leading slugging percentage of .545. Taylor led Huntington’s pitching staff with seven wins, 74 innings pitched, 40 strikeouts and a 2.43 ERA.

Joining the Foresters on the All-Conference Team are catchers Eric Vojkofsky (Spring Arbor) and Paul Passiales (Taylor), first baseman Jarrod Wehri (St. Francis), second baseman Matt Maples (Taylor), third baseman Nate Colclasure (Goshen), utility infielder Ryan Moore (Indiana Wesleyan), outfielders Bryston Bangel (Marian), Jon Schaible (Spring Arbor) and Tad Litwiller (Taylor) and pitchers Jesse Bachman (Spring Arbor), Brandon Moore (Indiana Wesleyan), Brad Hinkle (Spring Arbor).

For the first time, the MCC also selected a Golden Glove team. Players with the best fielding percentage by position were chosen. Forester second baseman Austan Kas (.975), outfielder Keith Benbow (.971) and pitcher Drew Taylor (1.000) were among the honorees. Other position players selected included first baseman Joel Strode (Marian), shortstop Jake Ringenberg (Bethel), third baseman Jeff Hollister (Spring Arbor), catcher Ryan Moore (Indiana Wesleyan) and outfielders Jon Schaible (Spring Arbor) and Bryston Bangel (Marian).


Heather Barkley
Director of Communications
Joanne Green
Sports Information Director