Seven Foresters earn MCC honors

The Mid-Central Conference (MCC) announced its post-season awards for the 2009-10 basketball season and seven Huntington University Foresters were among the list of honorees.

For the women, senior forward Courtney Beerbower (Auburn, Ind., DeKalb High School) earned First Team honors. Senior forward Jenna Donaldson (Auburn, Ind., DeKalb High School) and sophomore guard Sarah Miller (Eaton, Ind., Delta High School) were Second Team selections. Freshman point guard Lauren Meese (Marion, Ind., Oak Hill High School) was named Freshman of the Year. Other members of the First Team included Player of the Year, Elaine Hessel (Indiana Wesleyan), Bessie Jenkins (Saint Francis), Kayla Thompson (Indiana Wesleyan) and Mandy Yoder (Bethel).

Indiana Wesleyan’s Steve Brooks was named the MCC Coach of the Year.

On the men’s side, junior guard Kellen Zawadzki (Tipp City, Ohio, Tippecanoe High School) was a Second Team selection. Junior guard Tyler Shively (Columbia City, Ind., Columbia City High School) received Third Team honors and Luke Smith (Rochester, Ind., Rochester High School) was an Honorable Mention selection.

Members of the First Team included Player of the Year Errick McCollum (Goshen), DJ Baisden (Spring Arbor), Zach Coverstone (Indiana Wesleyan), Ryne Lightfoot (Bethel) and DeJovaun Sawyer-Davis (Saint Francis).

Casey Coons of Taylor received the Newcomer of the Year award and Spring Arbor’s Ryan Cottingham was the MCC Coach of the Year.

To see a complete list of the honorees, see the Mid-Central Conference website at


Heather Barkley
Director of Communications
Joanne Green
Sports Information Director