Education Department names scholarship winners

Huntington, Ind.—The Education Department of Huntington University has selected the recipients of the Betty A. Brown and Donald and Leora Ackerman Teacher Education Scholarship for the 2008-2009 academic year. Cassie Rudy, Krista Warner and Kaicy Guthrie, all seniors in the fall of 2008, will receive $1,000 scholarship awards.

Rudy is an elementary and special education major from Huntington, Ind. Warner is an elementary education major from Huntington, Ind. Guthrie is an elementary education major from Roanoke, Ind.

This scholarship was established in 2002 to honor the memory of these exemplary teachers. Candidates for the Brown/Ackerman scholarship must have at least a 3.5 grade point average and must submit a 400-500 word essay on “teaching as ministry.” Recipients are chosen by the faculty of the Huntington University Education Department. 

Huntington University is a comprehensive Christian college of the liberal arts offering graduate and undergraduate programs in more than 70 academic concentrations. U.S.News & World Report ranks Huntington among the best colleges in the Midwest. Founded in 1897 by the Church of the United Brethren in Christ, Huntington University is located on a contemporary, lakeside campus in northeast Indiana. The University is a member of the Council for Christian Colleges and Universities (CCCU).  


Heather Barkley
Director of Communications
Joanne Green
Sports Information Director