Huntington University’s Education Department awards scholarships to three juniors

Huntington, Ind. — The Education Department at Huntington University has announced the recipients of the Betty A. Brown and Donald & Leora Ackerman Teacher Education Scholarship for this year. Juniors Leanne Gehrke, Christa Spurgeon and Ellen Wolf will each receive $1,000 scholarship awards for the 2010-2011 academic year.

This scholarship was established in 2002 to honor the memory of these exemplary teachers.

Candidates for the Brown/Ackerman scholarship were selected based on scholarship, character and the essay submitted. They must have at least a 3.5 GPA and must submit a 400-500 word essay on “Teaching as Ministry.” Recipients are chosen by the faculty of the HU Education Department.

Gehrke is a junior elementary and special education major from Huntington, Ind.

Spurgeon is a junior elementary and special education major from Huntington, Ind.

Wolf is a junior elementary education major from Huntington, Ind. 
Huntington University is a comprehensive Christian college of the liberal arts offering graduate and undergraduate programs in more than 70 academic concentrations. U.S. News & World Report ranks Huntington among the best colleges in the Midwest, and has listed the university as one of America’s Best Colleges. Additionally, Princeton Review has named the institution to its “Best in the Midwest” list. Founded in 1897 by the Church of the United Brethren in Christ, Huntington University is located on a contemporary, lakeside campus in northeast Indiana. The university is a member of the Council for Christian Colleges and Universities (CCCU).  


Heather Barkley
Director of Communications
Joanne Green
Sports Information Director