Huntington University holds annual Forester Night

Huntington, Ind.—The 35th Annual Forester Night was held Tuesday, May 2, 2006, in the Zurcher Auditorium of the Huntington University Merillat Centre for the Arts. Foresters of the Year, the Alpha Chi Award, and the Outstanding Senior Awards from various academic departments were all given to several Huntington University graduating seniors. Foresters of the Year are voted on by the Huntington University student body.

Jenna Rodgers, a senior educational ministries major from Franklin, Pa., was named Female Forester of the Year. Andy Vaught, a senior Bible and religion major from Roanoke, Ind., was named Male Forester of the Year. Vaught also received the Outstanding Senior recognition from the Department of Bible & Religion.

Chad Pryor, an economics and finance major from Sheridan, Ind., was honored with the prestigious Alpha Chi Award, given to an outstanding senior in the Huntington University Alpha Chi Honor Society and voted on by fellow Alpha Chi members. Criteria taken into account for the award include academic excellence, contributions to the academic climate of Huntington University, contributions to Alpha Chi and its activities and personal excellence. Pryor served this past year as chapter vice president, with responsibility for programs and put together an outstanding, varied, and interesting series of Alpha Chi Forums.

For the Outstanding Senior Awards, faculty voted to select one Outstanding Senior from their respective departments and then presented a plaque to the individual on Forester Night. Departmental recipients included:

Andy Vaught, a Bible and religion major from Roanoke, Ind.

Emily Padilla, a biology major from Rochester, Ind.

Christine Shook, a not-for-profit business major from Franklin, Ind.

Amber Bowman, a chemistry major from La Fontaine, Ind.

Jeffrey Blossom, a film studies major from Fort Wayne, Ind.

Andrew Porterfield, a computer science major from Marion, Ind.

Lynsi Griffin, a graphic design major from Marion, Ind.

Amanda Cline, an elementary education major from Beaver Falls, Pa.

Jonathan Stotts, an English major from Angola, Ind.

Kevin Krauskopf, a history major from Huntington, Ind. (a native of Fremont, Ind.)

Ryan Darr, a mathematics major from Adrian, Mich.

Amy Cherry, an educational ministries major with a concentration in cross cultural ministries from Brooklyn, Mich.

Rusty Eshleman, a contemporary church music major from Saint Thomas, Pa.

Nathaniel Wood, a philosophy major from Martinsville, Ind.

Ashley Gonterman, a physical education major from Roanoke, Ind.

Betsey Bean, an exercise science major from Olivet, Mich.

Jennifer Pettit, a recreation management major from Goshen, Ind.

Christina Fox, a psychology major from Beaver Falls, Pa.

Emily Smith, a sociology major from Kalamazoo, Mich.

Rebecca Rodgers, a theatre performance major from Lincoln, Ill.

Professor of the Year, an honor voted on by Huntington University student body, was given to Dr. Mary Ruthi, professor of sociology. Ruthi is the chair of the Division of History, Social Sciences and Education. She earned her Ph.D. in sociology from the University of Nebraska, Lincoln. She has taught at Huntington for more than 24 years. Ruthi acts as one of the faculty sponsors of the Huntington University service sorority, Alpha Gamma Pi. 
Huntington University is a comprehensive Christian college of the liberal arts offering graduate and undergraduate programs in more than 70 academic concentrations. U.S.News & World Report ranks Huntington among the best colleges in the Midwest. Founded in 1897 by the Church of the United Brethren in Christ, Huntington University is located on a contemporary, lakeside campus in northeast Indiana. The University is a member of the Council for Christian Colleges and Universities (CCCU).  


Heather Barkley
Director of Communications
Joanne Green
Sports Information Director