Huntington to present 'Little Women: The Musical'

Huntington, Ind.—The Huntington University Theatre Company will present “Little Women: The Musical” at 7:30 p.m. on Nov. 1-2 and 8-9 and at 2 and 7:30 p.m. on Nov. 3 and 10 in the Studio Theatre of the Merillat Centre for the Arts.

Based on Louisa May Alcott’s own family experiences and novel, “Little Women” follows the adventures of Jo, Meg, Beth and Amy March as they grow up in Civil War America. The beloved story of the March sisters is timeless and deals with issues as relevant today as when they were written. Now, this wonderful narrative has been brought to life as an exhilarating new musical filled with glorious music, dancing and heart.

Derek Deroo as Laurie, Deanna Repic as Jo
Tickets are $12 for general admission, $10 for students and seniors, $6 for children 13 and younger, $5 for Huntington University students, and $9 for Huntington University faculty and staff. For tickets or more information, call the Merillat Centre for the Arts Box Office at (260) 359-4261 or log on to

The cast of “Little Women: The Musical” includes the following:

Jo March: Deanna Repic, a junior theatre performance major from Aliquippa, Penn.

Meg March: Abi Allwein, a junior theatre performance major from Fort Wayne, Ind.

Amy March: Kristen Kohaut, a senior theatre performance major from Hackettstown, N.J.

Jenn Miller as Marmee, Matthias Austin as Prof. Bhaer, Deanna Repic as Jo
Beth March: Courtney Swenson, a freshman theatre performance from Landenberg, Pa.

Marmee March: Jenn Miller, a senior theatre and psychology double major from Berkeley, Ill.

Aunt March: Rebekah Posegate, a junior theatre education major from Lake Villa, Ill.

Laurie: Derek DeRoo, a freshman digital media arts major from Zeeland, Mich.

John Brook: Peter Owens, a sophomore history education major from Indianapolis, Ind.

Prof. Bhaer: Matthias Austin, a sophomore theatre performance major from Wheaton, Ill.

Mr. Lawerence: Jon Huffman, a junior theatre major from Traverse City, Mich.

The ensemble includes the following:

Philip Black, a freshman undecided major from West Lafayette, Ohio

Alicia Bonham, a sophomore theatre education major from Upland, Ind.

Bethany Edlund, a freshman theatre performance major from Roanoke, Ind.

Meghan McClaine, a junior theatre education major from Greencastle, Ind.

Tory Nelson, a sophomore digital media arts major from Granger, Ind.

Glen Pearson, a freshman theatre performance major from Naperville, Ill.

Elaine Stoughton, a theatre performance major from Xenia, Ohio

The production staff includes the following:

Director: David Shamburger, assistant professor of theatre

Stage Manager: Hayley Johnson, a junior English education major from Fort Wayne, Ind.

Assistant Stage Managers: Cassie Mansheim and Mary Russell

Musical Director: Drew Wutke, adjunct faculty

Choreographer: Kristi Shamburger, adjunct faculty

Scene Design: Mark Ridgeway, guest artist, teaches at Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne

Costumes: Nora DesJardins, guest artist

Sound: Andrew Edmonds, a sophomore theatre design major from Beloit, Wis.

Lighting: Brad DeYoung, a senior theatre design major from Lansing, Ill.

Props: Kari Clark, a senior theatre design major from Columbus, Ind.

Assistant Props: Missy Waaland, a freshman theatre performance major from Findlay, Ohio

Hair and Make-up Designer: Cassandra Quinn-Dyar, a senior theatre and sociology double major from Bedford, Ind.

# # #

Huntington University is a comprehensive Christian college of the liberal arts offering graduate and undergraduate programs in more than 70 academic concentrations. U.S.News & World Report ranks Huntington among the best colleges in the Midwest. Founded in 1897 by the Church of the United Brethren in Christ, Huntington University is located on a contemporary, lakeside campus in northeast Indiana. The University is a member of the Council for Christian Colleges and Universities (CCCU).  


Heather Barkley
Director of Communications
Joanne Green
Sports Information Director