Huntington to sponsor, participate in college art exhibit

Huntington, Ind.—From Feb. 16 to March 2, 2007, students enrolled in Huntington University, Grace College, Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne, Ivy Tech State College, Manchester College and Tri-State University will have the opportunity to participate in a juried art exhibition sponsored by these universities and held at IPFW's Visual Arts Gallery.

Approximately 40 works will be chosen for the exhibition. The event is designed to showcase talent, build résumés, network students from Northeast Indiana campuses, and allow for the sharing of artistic ideas and inspiration. There will be six cash awards, ranging from $50 to $250, given to the artists and chosen by the juror.

There are no restrictions on the type of art and design media considered for the exhibition. Accepted artwork must be matted properly and safe for the public. All entries submitted on or before January 15, 2007, will be considered, including two-dimensional, three-dimensional, interactive, time-based, and theatrical costume and set design works. No work is to exceed 60 inches in any direction or weigh more than 150 pounds and must be submitted in a 72 dpi JPEG format. All submitted artwork must have been completed by current students while in attendance at the aforementioned institutions.

The juror for the exhibition is Brian Byrn. Byrn is the director of the Midwest Museum of American Art in Elkhart, Ind., and is a respected curator and lecturer whose work has been exhibited widely. The MMAA is known for its extensive collection of 20th century American art including works by Maria Martinez, Louise Nevelson and Grant Wood.
 Huntington University is a comprehensive Christian college of the liberal arts offering graduate and undergraduate programs in more than 70 academic concentrations. U.S.News & World Report ranks Huntington among the best colleges in the Midwest. Founded in 1897 by the Church of the United Brethren in Christ, Huntington University is located on a contemporary, lakeside campus in northeast Indiana. The University is a member of the Council for Christian Colleges and Universities (CCCU).


Heather Barkley
Director of Communications
Joanne Green
Sports Information Director