Four Foresters earn NAIA All-Region honors

 The NAIA has announced its Region VIII baseball awards for the spring 2007 season. Three Huntington University Foresters received All-Region honors and one was listed on the Gold Glove Team.

Junior Korey Grow was one of four outfielders to earn the honor. Thad Frame was the top shortstop in the region and Andrew Drummond made the list as the designated hitter. Spring Arbor pitcher Jesse Bachman was named Player of the Year and Sam Riggleman, Spring Arbor’s head coach, was the Coach of the Year.

Joining the Foresters on the All-Region Team are catchers Eric Vojkofsky (Spring Arbor) and Eric Ogden (Indiana Tech), first baseman Lee Moser (Aquinas), second baseman Ryan Morrow (Madonna), third baseman Nate Colclasure (Goshen), utility infielder Ryan Moore (Indiana Wesleyan), outfielders Seth Kuhl (Indiana Tech), Jon Schaible (Spring Arbor) and Mark Heineman (Indiana Tech), pitchers Jesse Bachman (Spring Arbor), Josh Judy (Indiana Tech), Brad Hinkle (Spring Arbor) and Marcus White (Indiana Tech) and relief pitcher Garrett Weijak (Indiana Tech).

For the first time, the NAIA also selected a Regional Golden Glove team. Players with the best fielding percentage by position were chosen. Forester second baseman Austan Kas topped all second baseman with his .975 fielding percentage. Other position players selected included first baseman Joel Strode (Marian), third baseman Jeff Hollister (Spring Arbor), shortstop Jake Ringenberg (Bethel), outfielders Jon Schaible (Spring Arbor), Seth Kuhl (Indiana Tech) and Bryston Bangel (Marian), catcher Ryan Moore (Indiana Wesleyan) and pitcher Bobby Koon (Concordia).


Heather Barkley
Director of Communications
Joanne Green
Sports Information Director