Seven Foresters receive MCC honors

The Mid-Central Conference (MCC) announced its postseason awards for the 2008-09 basketball season and seven Huntington University Foresters were among the list of honorees.

For the women, senior point guard Lauren Davenport was runner-up in the Player of the Year voting and earned First Team honors. Junior forward Courtney Beerbower was a Second Team selection, classmate Jenna Donaldson was Honorable Mention All-Conference and freshman guard Sarah Miller made the All-Newcomer team. Other members of the First Team included Player of the Year, Amber Peters (Bethel), Paige Rudolph (Taylor) and Marie Kaufman (St. Francis) and Mandy Yoder (Bethel).

Bethel’s Peters and Yoder were named co-Newcomer of the Year and Bethel's Jody Martinez was named the MCC Coach of the Year.

On the men's side, senior Kyle Benge was a Second Team selection and junior Kevin Kyle and sophomore Tyler Shively were both members of the Third Team.

Members of the First Team included Player of the Year William Walker (Bethel), Eric Gaff (Grace), Errick McCollum (Goshen), Antonio Murrell (Indiana Wesleyan) and DeJovaun Saywer-Davis (St. Francis). Landon Adler of Indiana Wesleyan received the Newcomer of the Year award and Grace’s Jim Kessler was the MCC Coach of the Year.

To see a complete list of the honorees, see the Mid-Central Conference website at


Heather Barkley
Director of Communications
Joanne Green
Sports Information Director