Omega Psi earns Kappa Delta Pi's ACE Award

1st row left to right: Dr. John Light, president of Kappa Delta Pi; Dr. Terrell Peace, counselor Omega Psi chapter; Harmony Peace, Stephanie Hoekenga, Mandie Cline, Connie Surface, Prof. Kathy Turner, Dr. Michael Wolfe, executive director of Kappa Delta Pi. 2nd row left to right: Josh Miller, Dan Knuth, Eric Throne, Wes Knuth
INDIANAPOLIS—Huntington University's Omega Psi Chapter of Kappa Delta Pi, International Honor Society in Education, received an Achieving Chapter Excellence Award at the society’s recent International Convocation in Orlando, Fla.

The ACE Awards program began in 1995 and recognizes chapters of the organization whose programming and service to students are exemplary and support the society’s mission and strategic goals. Only 35 of the more than 600 Kappa Delta Pi chapters earned this award.

Founded in 1911, Kappa Delta Pi, International Honor Society in Education, is a dynamic learning community that recognizes and enhances growth in scholars and leaders.

Eight members of Omega Psi attended KDP’s 45th Biennial Convocation from November 3-5, 2005. The Huntington students heard speakers such as the National Teacher of the Year and attended numerous workshops aimed at their professional growth. Students attending were Mandie Cline, Wes Knuth, Dan Knuth, Stephanie Hoekenga, Harmony Peace, Eric Throne, Connie Surface, and Josh Miller. They were accompanied by chapter counselor and Education Department chairman Dr. Terrell Peace and Prof. Kathy Turner, instructor in education. Each will share what was learned at the conference during Omega Psi’s monthly meetings throughout the remainder of the year.

# # #

Huntington University is a comprehensive Christian college of the liberal arts offering graduate and undergraduate programs in more than 70 academic concentrations. U.S.News & World Report ranks Huntington among the best colleges in the Midwest. Founded in 1897 by the Church of the United Brethren in Christ, Huntington University is located on a contemporary, lakeside campus in northeast Indiana. The University is a member of the Council for Christian Colleges and Universities (CCCU) and in 2004 was named one of the 50 best Christian places to work by Christianity Today magazine.  


Heather Barkley
Director of Communications
Joanne Green
Sports Information Director