Student volunteer center to be rededicated in honor of Dr. Friesen

 Norris Friesen 2010
Dr. Norris Friesen

HUNTINGTON, Ind. — On May 6, the Joe Mertz Center for Volunteer Service will be renamed to the Friesen Center for Volunteer Service in honor of Dr. Norris Friesen.

Friesen currently serves as the director of institutional effectiveness and a professor of German. He coordinates new faculty development, assists in developing and implementing strategies to recruit Chinese students, and organizes and leads cross-cultural experiences.

Friesen became dean of student services in 1985, and then was named vice president for student development in 1993. In 2002, he was appointed interim academic dean and in 2003 was appointed vice president and dean of the university while continuing to teach German.

Friesen earned a bachelor’s degree in German from Tabor College, a master’s degree in higher education administration from Kansas State University, and a PhD in counseling and student affairs administration from Purdue University. He focused on career development theory and counseling in his doctoral work at Purdue and continues to co-teach a course on career development theory in the Graduate Counseling program.

There will be a dedication ceremony at 4 p.m May 6 in the upper lobby of the Merillat Centre for the Arts in recognition of Friesen and his life-long commitment to serving others. Refreshments will be served immediately following the ceremony. This event is free and open to the public.

Huntington University is a comprehensive Christian college of the liberal arts offering graduate and undergraduate programs in more than 70 academic concentrations. U.S. News & World Report ranks Huntington among the best colleges in the Midwest, and has listed the university as one of America’s Best Colleges. Additionally, Princeton Review has named the institution a “Best Midwestern College.” Founded in 1897 by the Church of the United Brethren in Christ, Huntington University is located on a contemporary, lakeside campus in northeast Indiana. The university is a member of the Council for Christian Colleges and Universities (CCCU).


Heather Barkley
Director of Communications
Joanne Green
Sports Information Director