2013 Forester Night recognizes students, faculty

HUNTINGTON, Ind. The 42nd annual Huntington University Forester Night celebrated the accomplishments of students from across campus, as well as the recognition of the Foresters of the Year, the 2013 Outstanding Scholar Award, the Impact Initiative Scholarship and the Professor of the Year. The event was held May 7.

Andrew Malloy, a senior business management major from New Palestine, Ind., was named the Male Forester of the Year.MaleForester-AndrewMalloy
Samantha Brown, a senior psychology major from Huntington, Ind., was named the Female Forester of the Year.FemaleForester-SamBrown

Foresters of the Year are voted on by the Huntington University student body.

The 2013 Outstanding Scholar Award was given to Abbey Wise, an elementary education and middle-grades social studies major from Frankfort, Ill. This award is given by vote of fellow Alpha Chi members to the outstanding graduate in the Indiana Beta chapter of Alpha Chi Honor Society at Huntington University.

Dr. Dwight Brautigam, professor of history and Dr. Luke Fetters, professor of ministry and missions, were both named the 2013 Professor of the Year.

Brautigam has been at HU since 1987. He received his Ph.D. in British and early modern European history from the University of Rochester and specializes in 17th century English political and religious history. Brautigam also serves as the Treasurer of the Conference on Faith and History, a professional organization for Christian historians, and is a frequent participant in that organization's professional meetings.Professor-Brautigam
Fetters has taught at HU since 2000. He received his BA and MCM from HU and his master's in Intercultural Studies from Wheaton College Graduate School. He then went on to earn his Doctorate of Education in Adult, Higher and Community Education from Ball State University. In addition to teaching, Fetters has served the Church of the United Brethren in Christ in a wide variety of ministry roles. He is also the founder and director of the Institute for TESOL Studies at HU, leads teacher training teams to southern China each summer and is the faculty adviser to Global Vision, the student missions fellowship at Huntington University.Professor-Fetters

The 2013 Impact Initiative Scholarship was given to Abby Goering, a junior social work major from Carol Spring, Ill. The award is presented by the Student Senate to a student who has had an impact on the university and the greater community. The student receives a $1,000 scholarship for his or her junior and senior years.

Twenty seniors were also honored by their respective departments with Outstanding Senior Awards. The Outstanding Senior Awards are voted on by faculty. Recipients were presented plaques for their accomplishments at Forester Night.

Departmental recipients included:

Art: Sarah Stine, an art education major from Huntington, Ind.Art
Bible and Religion: Zen Hess, a Bible and religion major from Andrews, Ind.Bible
Biology: Gaynel Nave, a biology major from Huntington, Ind.Biology
Business & Economics: Jamon Hammel, an accounting and business management major from Andrews, Ind.
Chemistry: Kaitlyn Renfrew, a chemistry pre-med student from Fremont, Ind.
Communication: Jessica Emmert, a journalism major from Tallahassee, Fla.Communication
Computer Science: Valerie Van Ee, a computer science major from Eldridge, Iowa.ComputerScience
Animation: Aaron Bullen, an animation major from Huntington, Ind.DMA-Animation
Broadcasting: Leah Smith, a broadcasting major from Fort Wayne, Ind.DMA-Broadcast2
Film: Anthony Frederick, a film major from Portage, Ind.DMA-Film
Education: Abbey Wise, an elementary education and middle-grades social studies major from Frankfort, Ill.Education
English & Modern Language: Joelle Kriebel, an English major from Brookston, Ind.English
Exercise Science: Randee Bushnell, an exercise and movement science major from Lansing, Mich.ExerciseScience
History & Political Science: Amber Brady, a history major from Syracuse, Ind.History
History & Political Science: Bradley Barber, a political science major from Peoria, Ill.PolitcalScience
Ministry & Missions: Laura Stuckey, a children's ministry major from West Lafayette, Ohio.Ministry
Music: Gage Waltz, a music with emphasis in business major from Rochester, Ind.Music
Nursing: Aaron Wells, a nursing major from Marion, Ind.
Philosophy: Kyle Garberson, a philosophy major from Winona Lake, Ind.
Psychology: Alexandra Strawhun, a psychology major from Moscow Mills, Mo.Psychology
Social Work: Amanda Shoup, a social work major from Angola, Ind.SocialWork
Sociology: Liz Smith, a sociology and psychology major from Berne, Ind.Sociology
Theater Arts: Ashley Pifer, a theater design and technology major from Sylvania, Ohio.Theatre