HUAZ nominated for Academy of Television Arts & Sciences student awards

Huntington University Arizona (HUAZ) announced that eight students have been nominated for a Student Awards for Excellence by the Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter of The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences. The 40th annual awards ceremony will take place on October 14, 2017, in Phoenix, Arizona.

“The nominations are validating to us as a Christ-centered institution. I think we, as Christians, should try to be known for excellence and for how hard we work,” stated Phil Wilson, Arizona Digital Media Arts Program Director. “We are competing with the top two state university programs in our very first year and I believe this speaks volumes about our programs, faculty and staff.”

The second-year HUAZ students who were nominated for the Student Productions category include:

  • Long Form: Fiction/Non-Fiction: Joseph Stone (Glendale, Arizona) and Richard Sawyers (Peoria, Arizona), Teen Challenge
  • Public Affairs/Community Service: Josiah Hunt (Tucson, Arizona), Car Daddy
  • Public Affairs/Community Service: Jacob Moncayo (Peoria, Arizona) and Kameron Striplin (Yuma, Arizona), Scott Foundation
  • Photographer (general excellence in the craft): Lisette Perez (Goodyear, Arizona) and Ryan O’Grady (Peoria, Arizona)
  • Video Essay (single camera only): Richard Sawyers (Peoria, Arizona), My Creative Journey
  • Writing: Sarah Wickenhauser (Sun City, Arizona), My Creative Journey
  • Music Video: Lisette Perez (Goodyear, Arizona) and Joseph Stone (Glendale, Arizona), “Run to You” To the Hills

To view several of the nominated projects, please visit

“The Student Production Awards encourage the pursuit of excellence in video production and focuses public attention on outstanding achievements produced by high school and college students. These Student Production Awards are judged by professionals in the field, and the competition is quite rigorous, For Huntington University to receive this many nominations in its first year is notable; and speaks to the quality of the program and its ability to offer a real-world education for the digital media world of today and tomorrow,” said Chuck Emmert, Chairman, Education Committee, Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences.

The Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences is dedicated to excellence in television by honoring exceptional work through the prestigious Emmy® Award. It is the only professional association representing television professionals from all disciplines of the industry, serving as the common meeting ground for individuals dedicated to advancing the art and science of television. The Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter region serves Arizona, New Mexico, Utah and El Centro, California.

HUAZ just began its second year of operation in August with a cohort of 80 students after opening with 18 students in the fall of 2016. The facility, a 30,000 square-foot building, houses bachelor’s degree programs in animation, film production, broadcast media and graphic design. The facility features film and TV studios, high-end computer classroom/labs, private editing suites, a state-of-the-art TV control room, Foley pit, a host of EFP and cinema cameras, and lighting gear for student production work.