Christ.  Scholarship.  Service.

Krouse Foundation awards book stipends to students

Huntington, Ind.-The Flora Dale Krouse Foundation, administered by National City Bank of Fort Wayne, has awarded the Independent Colleges of Indiana $3,000 for $500 book stipend awards for six Hoosier students. Dedicated to helping high-achieving students with financial need, these book stipends are designated for juniors and seniors at Fort Wayne-area independent campuses: Huntington University, Indiana Tech, Manchester College, Taylor University Fort Wayne, TrineUniversity, and University of Saint Francis.

Selected by an independent panel of judges, this year's recipients are:

Elizabeth Hope Waldfogel (Fort Wayne, Ind.), family and children's ministry major - Huntington University

Joshua James Cauhorn, an English education major (Avilla, Ind.) - Huntington University

Steven P. Stapleton (Winona Lake, Ind.) - Manchester College

Nina Anderson (Fort Wayne, Ind.) - Taylor University Fort Wayne

Matthew Shane Dean (Scottsburg, Ind.) - Trine University

Miranda Adams (Decatur, Ind.) - University of Saint Francis

"The escalating cost for college textbooks is a growing concern for colleges and a growing burden for students, especially those already experiencing financial hardship," says Hans Giesecke, ICI president and CEO. "The Independent Colleges of Indiana is very grateful to the Krouse Foundation, through National City Bank of Fort Wayne, for providing help for this specific need. This grant supports our mission of assuring opportunity and choice in higher education for all students regardless of socioeconomic background."

Independent Colleges of Indiana, Inc. (ICI) is a nonprofit corporation that represents the state's 31nonprofit, accredited, undergraduate degree-granting institutions of higher education. ICI member institutions enroll more than 83,000 students (approximately 23 percent of all students statewide) and annually produce 34 percent of all bachelor's degrees in Indiana.