Christ.  Scholarship.  Service.

Schwartz receives Heuer Foundation Scholarship

Huntington, Ind.-The Russell P. Heuer Foundation of Delaware has awarded the Independent Colleges of Indiana $10,000 for four scholarships of $2,500 each. These scholarships are designated for Indiana students majoring in science, preferably chemistry, who have demonstrated financial need and are in their junior or senior year of college. More than 25 of ICI's 31 member colleges and universities offer degrees in chemistry and related fields of study such as biochemistry.

Selected by an independent panel of judges, this year's winners, each receiving a $2,500 scholarship, are:

Andrew J. Schwartz (Monroe, Ind.) - Huntington University/chemistry

Rachel Towers (Angola, Ind.) - Trine University/chemistry

Ashley Nelson (Lawrenceburg, Ind.) - University of Evansville/chemistry & mathematics

Jacob J. Roshanmanesh (Rolling Prairie, Ind.) - Valparaiso University/chemistry & biology

"ICI is very grateful to the Russell P. Heuer Foundation for this scholarship program," says Hans Giesecke, ICI president and CEO, "that not only reaches out to worthy students with financial need but also addresses the critical need for science graduates in our state and country. A core mission of ICI and our 31 member campuses is to assure opportunity and choice in higher education for all students regardless of socioeconomic background. This initiative by the Russell P. Heuer Foundation helps us to do exactly that."

Independent Colleges of Indiana, Inc. (ICI) is a nonprofit corporation that represents the state's 31 nonprofit, accredited, undergraduate degree-granting institutions of higher education. ICI member institutions enroll more than 83,000 students (approximately 23 percent of all students statewide) and annually produce 34 percent of all bachelor's degrees in Indiana.