Two HU students recognized with the 2013 PACE servant leadership award

2013 JMC Award
Recipients Essie Kaufman, left, and Markus Clancy

HUNTINGTON, Ind. Each year, Huntington University students donate thousands of hours to selflessly serve those in the community. Because of their leadership in the area of community and ministry service, two students have been recognized this year with the PACE Servant Leadership Award. The aim of this award is to promote the ideals of servant leadership in the Huntington University community.

Essie Kaufman, a junior nursing major from Toyama-shi, Toyama, Japan was nominated because "she goes above and beyond in her volunteering. She builds relationships with ease and is one of the easiest people to talk to and oozes wisdom and love," said Kahle Bryant resident director for Livingston Hall.

"Essie is one of the most humble young women I know. If she knew I was nominating her for this award, she would probably be uncomfortable receiving recognition because the great things that she does simply come from her heart, and need no recognition," Bryant said on the nomination form.

Markus Clancy, a junior physical education major from Huntington, Ind. was nominated because he supports others without any fanfare, asking nothing in return.

"Markus is gentle and soft spoken; he talks through his actions. I believe that Markus is not the student who everyone is going to notice because he quietly goes about his business. He is more than deserving of the Servant Leader recognition," said Joni Schmalzried, assistant professor of education.

The students were recognized at the Joe Mertz Center for Volunteer Service Appreciation Banquet on May 2.

In partnership with PACE (President's Advisory Council on Excellence) and Moore Foundations, Huntington University has established the HU Servant Leadership Award. The purpose of this award is to recognize students who have demonstrated leadership in the area of community and ministry service. Only juniors with a 2.5 GPA or above are eligible for consideration. Students are awarded a $1,000 prize where the recipients receive $750 toward academics and are asked to designate $250 to the charity of their choice.