Alpha Chi honor society inducts 21 new members

HUNTINGTON, Ind. Huntington University inducted 21 new members into the Indiana Beta Chapter of Alpha Chi during a convocation held Friday during Homecoming festivities at the university.

Membership in Alpha Chi is the highest academic honor at Huntington University and represents both a recognition of scholastic achievement and a commitment to promoting academic excellence and integrity on and off campus as well as service.

The Indiana Beta Chapter of Alpha Chi National College Honor Scholarship Society was established in 1967 and is one of more than 300 chapters in Alpha Chi. It is active in the regional and national activities of Alpha Chi and was named the National Chapter of the Year in 2001. This year, for the 18th consecutive year, the Indiana Beta Chapter was selected as a Star Chapter of Alpha Chi. It is one of four chapters to have received this award every year since its inception in 1996. Its members present papers at the national conventions of Alpha Chi and frequently win regional and national scholarships.

The following students were inducted into the Alpha Chi chapter for 2014:

  • Cody Abbott, a senior history major from Huntington, Ind.
  • Benjamin Blum, a senior missions major from Park, Pa.
  • Michael Bowman, a junior chemistry and mathematics major from La Fontaine, Ind.
  • Tyson Bradley-Kalischuk, a junior accounting, business management, and economics and finance major from Alberta, Canada
  • Joanna Brenneman, a senior accounting major from Larwill, Ind.
  • Sean Fitzpatrick, a junior animation major from Sellersville, Pa.
  • Haley Glinz, a senior music major from Spring Arbor, Mich.
  • Rebecca Grimes, a senior social work major from Saline, Mich.
  • Tyler Herber, a senior history education major from Fremont, Ind.
  • Amy Hetrick, a senior business management and marketing major from Fort Wayne, Ind.
  • Clarissa Hunter, a senior communication studies major from Fairland, Ind.
  • Olivia Knispel, a junior biology pre-med major from Churubusco, Ind.
  • Hannah Kregel, a senior elementary & special education major from Jenison, Mich.
  • Paul Landhuis, a senior youth ministries major from Huntington, Ind.
  • Eric Luce, a junior film production major from Salina, Kan.
  • Kayla Mitchell, a junior animation major from Loveland, Ohio
  • Julia Moore, a senior film production major from Rosco, Ill.
  • Megan Schueler, a senior social work major from Decatur, Ind.
  • Samuel Thompson, a senior business management, history and entrepreneurial small business major from Brownsburg, Ind.
  • Brice Urschel, a senior accounting major from Fort Wayne, Ind.
  • Yang Wu, a senior journalism major from Zhangjiakou Hebei, People's Republic of China.