Maintenance dept. named 2014 Staff Members of the Year

HUNTINGTON, Ind. The six members of the Huntington University maintenance department have been named the 2014 Staff Members of the Year. Earlier this month, Amy Biegel, assistant professor of social work, was named the 2014 Professor of the Year.

The Staff Member of the Year award, like the Professor of the Year award, recognizes outstanding service to the university.

Staff members Jerry Gressley, Steve Alexander, Todd Carroll, Mark Hesting, David Pearson and Chad Ralston were nominated by faculty and staff for the award and were selected by the university's senior administrators. They were recognized for the award during the annual Celebration of Service banquet today, May 20.

The maintenance department was acknowledged for their hard work of relentlessly removing snow and keeping the campus running during the harsh winter conditions earlier this year.

Alexander, an HU alum and staff member for 10 years, works on the upkeep of residence halls and buildings as well as snow removal. Carroll has been at HU for eight years and works mainly with carpentry work and general repair. Hesting has spent the past 14 years at HU and generally works with HUAC repair and campus furniture. Pearson, a 10-year staff member, works on general maintenance repairs and specializes in plumbing. Ralston has been with HU for four years and is responsible for electrical maintenance and repairs. Gressley leads the department and is responsible for facilities management. He has been with the university since 1987.