Christ.  Scholarship.  Service.

Board of Trustees

University Governance

Huntington University is governed by a self-perpetuating, thirty-three member Board of Trustees. Eight of its members serve through appointment to the Higher Education Leadership Team of the Church of the United Brethren in Christ. Three board members serve ex-officio: the presidents of the Huntington University Foundation, the Alumni Association, and the Student Senate. Except for the latter, trustee members are elected for terms of four years.

Those elected as Trustees are expected to (i) possess a genuine and personal relationship with Jesus Christ as evidenced by a vital witness and spiritual maturity, (ii) have an evangelical commitment, (iii) actively participate in a local church congregation, and (iv) subscribe to the University’s Statement of Faith.

All trustees shall (i) acknowledge and evidence a commitment to the mission and heritage of the University, (ii) demonstrate integrity and maturity, (iii) willingly support the University and influence others to do so, (iv) have a primary commitment to the University with respect to service as a trustee, (v) willingly carry out trustee duties in a manner that avoids all possible conflicts of interest, (vi) be persons of high and recognized character, and (vii) be committed to Christian higher education.

Board members may access the Trustee Portal (login required).

Constituent Support

The University depends upon the interest and generosity of its various constituencies in providing resources for current and future operations. Current annual gifts are very important in meeting the necessary obligations of the institution. Deferred gifts and investments in the form of cash, bonds, securities, life insurance, annuities, and real estate build a vital and solid foundation for future growth and operation.

Current income is provided by student tuition and fees, which provide three-fourths of the operating revenue, and by gifts from generous supporters, from alumni, and from the church. Additional revenue is provided by annuities and life estates and by a modest endowment.

Persons desiring to remember Huntington University in their wills, to receive information on estate planning or deferred giving, or to become involved in a major gift for current fund or capital campaign are invited to call or write the President for a personal response.

Executive Committee/Officers

Monte Lightner - Chair
Rae Gonterman - Vice Chair
Tom Feusse - Secretary
Carol Clark - Academic Programs Committee Chair
Tom Clounie - Advancement Committee Chair
Herb Schumm - Board Development Committee Chair
Dalton Jenkins - Enrollment Management/University Relations Committee Chair
Brian Nofzinger - Finance Committee Chair
Nancy Lamport - Student Life Committee Chair
Todd Fetters - At-Large Member

Board of Trustees

Lars Andersen
Jody Bowser        
Bobby Caley
Carol Clark
Roger Cooley
Tom Clounie
Candace Curie
Brian Emerick
Brooks Fetters
Todd Fetters
Tom Feusse
Ron Freeman
Rae Gonterman
Adrian Halverstadt        
Brian Hughes    
Dalton Jenkins
Nancy Lamport
Monte Lightner
Kristi McConnell 
Richard Merillat
Dennis Miller
Sue Miller
Brian Nofzinger
Seth Parsell
Marty Pennington
Rex Schrader
Herb Schumm
Ryan Warner
Jeanne’ Wickens
Matt Wilcox
Joe Wiley
Robin Wright 

Chairman Emeriti

Don Duff
C. Ray Miller
Kelly Savage

Trustee Emeriti

Ron Baker
Larry Lance
Paul Lehman
Emmett Lippe
David McGinnis
Kenneth Savage
Nancy Stouffer
Tom Tyler
Howard Whaley

Honorary Trustee

Phil Howard