2014 Forester Night recognizes students, faculty

HUNTINGTON, Ind. The 43rd annual Huntington University Forester Night celebrated the accomplishments of students from across campus, as well as the recognition of the Foresters of the Year, the 2014 Outstanding Scholar Award, the Impact Initiative Scholarship and the Professor of the Year. The event was held May 6.

James Pope, a senior sport and exercise studies major from San Diego, Calif., was named the Male Forester of the Year. Foresters of the Year are voted on by the Huntington University student body.ForesterofYear_James
Jordan VanEngen, a senior elementary and special education and elementary education and teaching English learners major from Byron Center, Mich., was named the Female Forester of the Year. Foresters of the Year are voted on by the Huntington University student body.ForesterofYear_Jordan
The 2014 Outstanding Scholar Award was given to Preston Hoobler (right, with Dr. Paul Michelson), a senior chemistry education major from Marion, Iowa. This award is given by vote of fellow Alpha Chi members to the outstanding graduate in the Indiana Beta chapter of Alpha Chi Honor Society at Huntington University.Outstanding_Scholar
Amy Biegel, assistant professor of social work, was named the 2014 Professor of the Year. Biegel has worked in the field of social work for more than 13 years, working mostly with children, adolescents and their families. She is a licensed clinical social worker with a bachelor's degree in both psychology and social work from Indiana Wesleyan University and a master's in social work from Indiana University. Before coming to HU in 2012, she was the clinical director at Youth for Christ.ProfessorofYear

The 2014 Impact Initiative Scholarship was given to Lucas Lengacher (right, with Student Body President Luke McConnell), a sophomore psychology major from Leo, Ind. The award is presented by the Student Senate to a student who has had an impact on the university and the greater community. The student receives a $1,000 scholarship for his or her junior and senior years.


This year, professors also were recognized for their commitment to integrate Christian beliefs into their classrooms. The Professor Faith Integration Award was presented to Amy Biegel; Dr. David Alexander, associate professor of philosophy; Dr. Mark Fairchild, Luke J. Peters professor of biblical studies; and Dr. David McEowen, associate professor of business.

Twenty-six seniors also were honored by their respective departments with Outstanding Senior Awards. The Outstanding Senior Awards are voted on by faculty. Recipients were presented plaques for their accomplishments at Forester Night.

Departmental recipients included:

Art: Cate Rinchak, a senior graphic design major from Chesterton, Ind.not pictured
Biology: Bobae Lee (right, with Dr. Bruce Evans), a senior biology major from Seoul, South KoreaBiology
Business & Economics: Daniel Binkoski, (right, with Prof. Anita Wickersham) a senior entrepreneurial small business management, business management and economics and finance major from Adrian, Mich.Daniel_Business
Chemistry: Stacie Cressman, (right, with Dr. Ruth Nalliah) a senior chemistry major from Sturgis, Mich.Chemistry
Chemistry: Preston Hoobler, (left, with Dr. Ruth Nalliah) a senior chemistry education major from Marion, IowaChemistry_Education
Communication: Will Stauffer, (right, with Dr. Mike Rowley) a senior communication studies major from Churubusco, Ind.Will_Stauffer
Computer Science: Austin Drummond, (right, with Dr. Jeff Lehman) a senior business management and computer science major from Huntington, Ind.Computer_Science
Animation: Matt Nelson, a senior animation major from Granger, Ind.not pictured
Broadcast-Fusion Media: Brooks Hooley, (left, with Prof. Bryan Ballinger) a broadcasting major from Worthington, OhioBroadcasting
Film: Tyler Beasley, a senior film production major from Salem, Va.not pictured
Education: Jordan VanEngen (right, with Dr. Joni Schmalzried) a senior elementary and special education and elementary education and teaching English learners major from Byron Center, Mich.Education
English & Modern Language: Michelle Embree, an English literature major from Butler, Ind.not pictured
Exercise Science: Kyle Geiss, (left, with Dr. Matthew Ruiz) a senior exercise and movement science major from Granville, OhioKinesiology
History: Josh McIntyre, (left, with Dr. Jeff Webb) a senior history and political science from Huntington, Ind.Josh_History
Math: Sabira Rakhimova, (right, with Dr. Daniel Dobbs) a senior mathematics-actuarial and economics and finance major from Bishkek, KyrgyzstanMath
Ministry & Missions: Holly Lutton, (left, with Dr. Luke Fetters) a youth ministries major from Anderson, Ind.Ministry
Music: Jacob Smith, (left, with Dr. George Killian) a senior music choral education major from Berne, Ind.Music
Nursing: Miranda Boyts, (left, with Prof. Nancy Richison) a senior nursing major from Goshen, Ind.Nursing
Philosophy: Kendall Bates, (left, with Dr. David Alexander) a senior computer science and philosophy from Gibsonburg, OhioPhilosophy
Physical Education: Alyssa Krause, (right, with Dr. Jody Davenport) a senior physical education and health major from Waseca, Minn.Physical_Education
Political Science: Melissa Grossman, (left, with Dr. Jeff Webb) a senior political science and history major from Huntington, Ind.Political_Science
Psychology: Jessica Krause, (right, with Dr. Tanner Babb) a senior psychology major from Waseca, Minn.Psychology
Recreation Management: Wes Johnson, a senior recreation management major from Danville, Ind.not pictured
Social Work: Jessica Perry, (right, with Prof. Amy Biegel) a senior social work major from Jefferson City, Mo.Social_Work
Sociology: Margaret Slagenwhite, (left, with Dr. Mary Ruthi) a senior psychology and sociology major from Ypsilanti, Mich.Sociology
Theater Arts: Stephen Planalp, (left, with Prof. Jonathan Hicks) a senior theater performance major from Columbus, Ind.Theatre