Area middle school students to participate in HU math competition

HUNTINGTON, Ind.- The annual Huntington University Middle School Mathematics Competition will take place April 20 in the Merillat Center for the Arts at Huntington University.

Seventeen area middle schools are scheduled to compete for individual and team awards in demonstration of mathematical abilities. The goal of the competition is to support and encourage the efforts of students seeking to achieve in mathematics.

Schools competing this year are Anderson Christian School, Anderson, Ind.; Bluffton-Harrison Middle School, Bluffton, Ind.; Concord Junior High School, Elkhart, Ind.; Continental Middle School, Continental, Ohio; Edgewood Middle School, Warsaw, Ind.; Garrett Middle School, Garrett, Ind.; Milford Middle School, Milford, Ind.; Northridge Middle School, Middlebury, Ind.; Parkway Middle School, Rockford, Ohio; Queen of Angels School, Fort Wayne, Ind.; Riverview Middle School, Huntington, Ind.; Rossville Middle School, Rossville, Ind.; Selma Middle School, Selma, Ind.; St. Joseph St. Elizabeth School, Fort Wayne, Ind.; St. Mary's School, Anderson, Ind.; St. Peter-Immanuel Lutheran School, Decatur, Ind.; and Wawasee Middle School, Syracuse, Ind.

The mathematics competition is made up of three rounds. The first round is a 20-question written exam comprised of questions from algebra, geometry and general mathematics. Students can earn a total of 100 points for the exam. The individual round of the competition is made up of 10 questions. Students are given a minute and a half to complete each question. Each question answered correctly earns a student 10 points. The final round - the team round - provides additional points for the team score. Students are provided with several problems that are more challenging and best solved through the cooperative efforts of the team. A total of 50 points is possible for the final round.

Dr. Yu Yan, assistant professor of mathematics, is the faculty sponsor for the competition. Megan Verhasselt, a junior mathematics education major from of Bartlett, Ill., is the student coordinator for the competition.