Christ.  Scholarship.  Service.

Four students recognized by history department faculty

Huntington, Ind.-The Huntington University History Department faculty honored four students April 15 with the S. G. Whittle Johnston Memorial Award in History and the Jack P. Barlow Sr. History Book Prize.

This year's winner of the S.G. Whittle Johnston Memorial Award is Jandra Sutton, a senior history major from Auburn, Ind., for her winning entry, "Wavell: The Soldier Viceroy of India." The runner-up for the award is Vince Moore, a junior history major from Noblesville, Ind., with his entry titled, "Thomas More the Martyr."

"Jandra is an intelligent, amiable and confident student who has a strong commitment to world history and social justice" said Dwight Brautigam, professor of history. "She is highly regarded by the history department, and it would be of no surprise if, in the near future, she was to continue her studies as a graduate student."

Sutton will receive a plaque and a cash award of $1,000.

Stephen Edinger, a senior history major with a concentration in political studies from Sylvania, Ohio, and Timothy LaBarbera, a senior history major from Valparaiso, Ind., received the Jack P. Barlow Sr. History Book Prize based on their outstanding work in a seminar class required of all history majors. Both recipients will receive $200 to be used for books for their personal libraries.

The S.G. Whittle Johnston Memorial Award in History, now in its eighth year at the university, was established by a Huntington alum in honor of the alum's graduate school mentor. The award is to encourage upper level history students in their studies of history. The award goes to the junior or senior history major who submits the most outstanding work of original scholarship to the history department faculty.

The Jack P. Barlow Sr. History Book Prize is made possible through the Ron Frank Memorial Endowment in History, a fund established in 1973 to honor the memory of Ron Frank, a Huntington history major who passed away during the spring semester of his senior year.

"This year's competition was extremely difficult to judge as we received the highest number of submissions ever, and also collectively, this was the strongest group of submissions we have ever received," Brautigam said.