2012 Forester Night honors students, faculty

HUNTINGTON, Ind. The 41st annual Huntington University Forester Night celebrated the accomplishments of students from across campus, as well as the recognition of the Foresters of the Year, the 2012 Outstanding Scholar Award, the Impact Initiative Scholarship and the Professor of the Year. The event was held May 1.

Jonathan Brenneman, a senior history and philosophy major from St. Marys, Ohio, was named the Male Forester of the Year./uploadedImages/News/News_Release_Images/2011-2012/Forester_Night/IMG_1376.jpg
Katie Martin, a senior middle grades education and elementary education major from Eaton, Ohio, was named the Female Forester of the Year. Foresters of the Year are voted on by the Huntington University student body./uploadedImages/News/News_Release_Images/2011-2012/Forester_Night/IMG_1359.jpg
The 2012 Outstanding Scholar Award was given to Luke Brenneman, a sociology major from Spencerville, Ohio. This award is given by vote of fellow Alpha Chi members to the outstanding graduate in the Indiana Beta chapter of Alpha Chi Honor Society at Huntington University./uploadedImages/News/News_Release_Images/2011-2012/Forester_Night/IMG_1288.jpg
Dr. Kent Eilers, assistant professor of theology, was named the 2012 Professor of the Year. Eilers has been at HU since 2009. After gaining a BS from Calvin College, he then pursued a M.Div. from Denver Seminary, and ultimately a Ph.D. in systematic theology from King's College, University of Aberdeen (Scotland). While completing his undergraduate and graduate education he served on the staffs of several churches in Michigan and later in Colorado where he was ordained./uploadedImages/News/News_Release_Images/2011-2012/Forester_Night/IMG_1331.jpg
The 2012 Impact Initiative Scholarship was given to Jordan Vanengen, a sophomore elementary and special education and teaching English learners Byron Center, Mich. The award is presented by the Student Senate to a student who has had an impact on the university and the greater community. The student receives a $1,000 scholarship for his or her junior and senior years.Picture not available.
Twenty seniors were also honored by their respective departments with Outstanding Senior Awards. The Outstanding Senior Awards are voted on by faculty. Recipients were presented plaques for their accomplishments at Forester Night.

Departmental recipients included:
Art: Rebecca Evans, an art education major from Zeeland, Mich./uploadedImages/News/News_Release_Images/2011-2012/Forester_Night/IMG_0967.jpg
Bible and Religion: Joseph DeGraaf, a Bible and religion major from Grandville, Mich./uploadedImages/News/News_Release_Images/2011-2012/Forester_Night/IMG_0975.jpg
Nicole Schanke, a biology major from Trenton, Ohio/uploadedImages/News/News_Release_Images/2011-2012/Forester_Night/IMG_0981.jpg
Business & Economics: Vincent Bruinsma, a business management major from South Bend, Ind./uploadedImages/News/News_Release_Images/2011-2012/Forester_Night/IMG_0987.jpg
Communication: Alicia Stauffer, a communication studies major from Churubusco, Ind./uploadedImages/News/News_Release_Images/2011-2012/Forester_Night/IMG_1000.jpg
Computer Science: Robert Hindy, a computer science major from Fowlerville, Mich./uploadedImages/News/News_Release_Images/2011-2012/Forester_Night/IMG_1018.jpg
Digital Media Arts: Katie Eder, an animation major from Onsted, Mich./uploadedImages/News/News_Release_Images/2011-2012/Forester_Night/IMG_1027.jpg
Education: Ellen Wolf, an elementary education major from Huntington, Ind.Picture not available.
English & Modern Language: Sarah Johnson, a journalism and English major from Davenport, Iowa./uploadedImages/News/News_Release_Images/2011-2012/Forester_Night/IMG_1046.jpg
Exercise Science: Rachel Mathews, a sport and exercise studies major from Spring Arbor, Mich./uploadedImages/News/News_Release_Images/2011-2012/Forester_Night/IMG_1072.jpg
History & Political Science: Jonathan Brenneman/uploadedImages/News/News_Release_Images/2011-2012/Forester_Night/IMG_1079.jpg
Mathematics: Megan Verhasselt, a math education major from Bartlett, Ill./uploadedImages/News/News_Release_Images/2011-2012/Forester_Night/IMG_1092.jpg
Ministry & Missions: Haley Neiderhiser, a youth ministries major from Cedar Rapids, Iowa.Picture not available.
Music: Emily Stites, a music business major from Napoleon, Ohio./uploadedImages/News/News_Release_Images/2011-2012/Forester_Night/IMG_1112.jpg
Nursing: Brita Kuiper, a nursing major from Bellevue, Mich./uploadedImages/News/News_Release_Images/2011-2012/Forester_Night/IMG_1120.jpg
Philosophy: Jonathan Brenneman/uploadedImages/News/News_Release_Images/2011-2012/Forester_Night/IMG_1126.jpg
Psychology: Jennifer Cramer, a sociology and psychology major from Shippensburg, Pa./uploadedImages/News/News_Release_Images/2011-2012/Forester_Night/IMG_1142.jpg
Social Work: Suzanne Radosevich, a social work major from Huntington, Ind./uploadedImages/News/News_Release_Images/2011-2012/Forester_Night/IMG_1164.jpg
Sociology: Luke Brenneman/uploadedImages/News/News_Release_Images/2011-2012/Forester_Night/IMG_1183.jpg
Theater Arts: Amber-Dawn Katulic, a theater design and technology major from Winter Garden, Fla./uploadedImages/News/News_Release_Images/2011-2012/Forester_Night/IMG_1195.jpg