Alpha Chi honor society inducts new members for 2012

HUNTINGTON, Ind. Huntington University inducted 27 new members into the Indiana Beta Chapter of Alpha Chi during a convocation held Oct. 31. Membership in Alpha Chi is the highest academic honor at Huntington University and represents both a recognition of scholastic achievement and a commitment to promoting academic excellence and integrity on and off campus as well as service.

The Indiana Beta Chapter of Alpha Chi National College Honor Scholarship Society was established in 1967 and is one of more than 300 chapters in Alpha Chi. It is active in the regional and national activities of Alpha Chi and was named the National Chapter of the Year in 2001. This year, for the 17th consecutive year, The Indiana Beta Chapter was selected as a Star Chapter of Alpha Chi. It is one of four chapters to have received this award every year since its inception in 1996.

The following students were inducted into the Alpha Chi chapter for 2012:

Paige Bontrager (left), a junior nursing major
Miranda Boyts (middle), a junior nursing major
Michelle Hawthorne (right), a senior nursing major
with Dr. Diana Shenefield
Gina Boucouras, a junior social work major
with Dr. Carla MacDonald
Blair Caldwell, a junior broadcasting major
with Dr. Lance Clark
Kaitlyn Dreman (left), a junior exercise and movement science major
Kyle Geiss (right), a junior exercise and movement science major
with Dr. Matthew Ruiz
Jessi Emmert (left), a senior journalism and history major
Andrew Wickersham (right), a junior history major
with Dr. Tim Smith
Zach Figgins (left), a senior animation major
Valerie Van Ee (right), a senior animation and computer science major
with Prof. Tyler Welker
Rachel Heneveld (left), a senior children's ministry major
Alexandra Jones (second from left), a senior worship leadership major
Holly Lutton (second from right), a junior youth ministries major
Nate Sullivan (right), a junior educational ministries and communication studies major
with Dr. Karen Jones
Hannah Hochstetler, a junior graphic design major
with Prof. Ken Hopper
Alyssa Krause, a senior physical education and health P-12 major
with Dr. Jody Davenport
Jessica Krause (right), a junior psychology major
Ali Strawhun (left), a senior psychology major
with Dr. Tanner Babb
Abby Madison, a junior English education major
with Dr. Todd Martin
Raquel Martinez, a senior graphic design major
with Prof. Rebecca Coffman
Megan Piper, a senior elementary education major
with Dr. Terrell Peace
Sabira Rakhimova, a junior math and economics and finance major
with Dr. Matthew Wright
Jacob Smith, a junior music education major
with Dr. George Killian
Will Stauffer, a junior communication studies major
with Dr. Kevin Miller
Sonya Yoder, a senior elementary education major
with Dr. Susie Boyer
Leah Wegel, a junior English major
with Dr. Jack Heller