About the Indiana Beta Chapter

Awards and Distinctions

The Indiana Beta Chapter of Alpha Chi was founded in 1967. It has been one of the most active chapters both nationally and in the Midwest Region V of Alpha Chi.

  • Our chapter has been recognized as a "Star Chapter" of Alpha Chi every year since 1996, the year the award was established. This makes us one of only four chapters with this distinction.
  • At the 2001 Alpha Chi National Convention in Savannah, the Indiana Beta Chapter was named the winner of the Alpha Chi President's Cup as the national Outstanding Chapter of out of over 300 chapters.
  • At the 2015 Alpha Chi National Convention in Chicago, the Indiana Beta Chapter became a second-time winner of the Alpha Chi President's Cup.
  • Huntington University was the host chapter for Alpha Chi Region V Conventions in 1978, 1980, 1988, and 2000.
  • Many of our students have won National Alpha Chi Scholarship or Fellowship awards:
    • Mr. Jeff Wood (Benedict Graduate Fellowship, 1987)
    • Ms. Christina K. Smith (Benedict Graduate Fellowship, 1989)
    • Mr. Nate Bordeaux (Nolle Scholarship, 1997)
    • Ms. Maria Kurtz (Benedict Graduate Fellowship, 1999)
    • Ms. Kriss Hultman (Nolle Scholarship, 1999)
    • Ms. Rachel Tinon (Nolle Scholarship, 2004)
    • Ms. Beka Nimtz (Nolle Scholarship, 2005)
    • Mr. Nate Wood (Benedict Graduate Fellowship, 2006)
    • Mr. Will Braun (Benedict Graduate Fellowship, 2009)
    • Ms. Christianne Gates (Joseph E. Pryor Doctoral Fellowship 2010)
    • Mr. Luke Brenneman (Nolle Scholarship 2011)
    • Ms. Sarah Johnson (Benedict Graduate Fellowship 2012)
    • Ms. Clarissa Hunter (Nolle Scholarship 2015)
    • Ms. Bronwen Fetters (Benedict Graduate Fellowship 2016)
    • Mr. Tyler Herber (Benedict Graduate Fellowship 2016)
  • Numerous members of the Indiana Beta chapter have won Region V scholarships and fellowships. The most recent include:
    • Ms. Christianne Gates (2008)
    • Ms. Caitlynn Lowe (2009)
    • Mr. Chris Sutton (2009)
    • Mr. Jon Brenneman (2011)
    • Ms. Nicole Schanke (2012)
    • Mr. Anthony Frederick (2012)
    • Mr. Andrew Wickersham (2013)
    • Mr. Alex Hoffman (2015)
    • Ms. Bronwen Fetters (2016)


Officers, Members, and Activities