2011 Forester Night honors students, faculty

HUNTINGTON, Ind.- The 40th annual Huntington University Forester Night celebrated the accomplishments of students from across campus, as well as the recognition of the Foresters of the Year, the 2011 Outstanding Scholar Award, the Impact Initiative Scholarship and the Professor of the Year. The event was held May 3.

Philip Black, Male
Forester of the Year
Gloria Bonilla, Female
Forester of the Year
Jared Grandlienard,
Outstanding Scholar
Dr. David Alexander,
Professor of the Year
Chad Shellabarger,
Impact Initiative
Scholarship recipient
Daniel Binkoski, new
Student Body President

Philip Black, a senior theater performance major from Fort Wayne, Ind., was named the Male Forester of the Year, and Gloria Bonilla, a senior public relations major from La Ceiba, Honduras, was named the Female Forester of the Year. Foresters of the Year are voted on by the Huntington University student body.

The 2011 Outstanding Scholar Award was given to Jared Grandlienard, a senior mathematics major from Bluffton, Ind. This award is given by vote of fellow Alpha Chi members to the outstanding graduate in the Indiana Beta chapter of Alpha Chi Honor Society at Huntington University.

Dr. David Alexander, assistant professor of philosophy, was named the 2011 Professor of the Year. He earned his Ph.D. in philosophy and Master of Arts in philosophy from Baylor University in 2008 and 2005, respectively. He has served as an assistant professor of philosophy at Calvin College and an instructor in philosophy at Baylor University. His areas of specialization include ethics and metaphysics. He also has achieved competence in the philosophy of religion, epistemology, the history of modern philosophy and medieval philosophy.

The 2011 Impact Initiative Scholarship was given to Chad Shellabarger, a sophomore nursing student from Rockford, Ohio. The award is presented by the Student Senate to a student who has had an impact on the university and the greater community. The student receives a $1,000 scholarship for his or her junior and senior years.

Daniel Binkoski, a sophomore business management and economics and finance major from Adrian, Mich., was named the Student Body President for the 2011-12 school year.

Twenty seniors were also honored by their respective departments with Outstanding Senior Awards. The Outstanding Senior Awards are voted on by faculty. Recipients were presented plaques for their accomplishments at Forester Night.

Departmental recipients included:

Art: Jamie Thurston, a senior graphic design and art education major from Van Wert, Ohio.
Bible and Religion: Dustin Flores, a senior Bible and religion major from Oak Harbor, Ohio.
Biology: Brandon Tanner, a senior biology-pre-med major from Angola, Ind.
Business: Robert Hahn, a senior entrepreneurial small business management and business management major from Whitehouse, Ohio.
Communication: Amanda Kent, a senior public relations major from Williams, Ind.
Computer Science: Andrew Martin, a senior animation and computer science major from Eaton, Ohio.
Digital Media Arts: Katrina Helmer, a senior broadcasting major from Noblesville, Ind.
Education: Alissa Prichard, a senior elementary education and middle grades education major from Van Wert, Ohio.
Exercise Science: Travis Frantz, a senior applied exercise science major from Fremont, Ind.
History Education: Jordan Binkerd, a senior history education major from Andrews, Ind.
History: Susanne Shepherdson, a senior history and entrepreneurial small business management from Maitland, Fla.
Political Studies: Elizabeth Holtrop, a senior political studies major from Huntington, Ind.
Music: Ashlyn Brady, a senior music education major from Macomb, Mich.
Math: Jared Grandlienard, a senior mathematics major from Bluffton, Ind.
Nursing: Courtney Watkins, a senior nursing major from South Whitley, Ind.
Ministry and Missions: Ross Kilgore, a senior family and children ministry and youth ministries major from New Castle, Ind.
Philosophy: Nick Colgrove, a Bible and religion and philosophy major from Berea, Ohio.
Psychology: Ashley Upchurch, a senior psychology major from New Castle, Ind.
Social Work: Alissa Pienkowski, a senior social work major from Hampshire, Ill.
Sociology: Lydia Simon, a senior sociology major from Delta, Ohio.
Theater: Philip Black, a senior theater performance major from Fort Wayne, Ind.