Huntington University Board of Trustees


University Governance

The Board of Trustees is responsible for the direction and management of all assets and programs of the University. The Board formulates and determines the general, educational and financial policies as are deemed necessary for the administration and development of the University in accordance with its stated purposes. The Board selects the President who serves as chief executive officer of the University and is responsible for all University educational and managerial affairs.

The University is firmly committed to the lordship of Jesus Christ and evangelical Christianity as the foundation for its educational philosophy and operation. All trustees, excluding Ex Officio Trustees, and all regular employees of the University shall (i) possess a genuine and personal relationship with Jesus Christ as evidenced by a vital witness and spiritual maturity, (ii) evidence an evangelical commitment, (iii) actively participate in a local church congregation and (iv) subscribe to the Huntington University Statement of Faith.

The Board of Trustees may be comprised of up to 39 active, voting members. Trustees are elected by the Board and members of the Higher Education Leadership Team of the Church of the United Brethren in Christ, USA. The President of the Huntington University Foundation, the President of the Alumni Association of Huntington University and the President of the Student Senate are ex officio members. Elected members serve four-year terms.

Officers of the Board
Monte J. LightnerChair
Rae A. GontermanVice Chair
Thomas A. FeusseSecretary
Term Expires 2023 
Roger D. Cooley, financial institutions consultantByron Center, Michigan
Isiah N. Huber, studentPierceton, Indiana
Brian W. Hughes, chief executive officer/presidentRossford, Ohio
Rex D. Schrader, presidentColumbia City, Indiana
Herbert A. Schumm, vice president medical education/physician engagementLoveland, Ohio
Joseph K. Wiley, attorney/partnerHuntington, Indiana
Term Expires 2024 
Jody Bowser, senior pastorChambersburg, Pennsylvania
Brian G. Emerick, chief executive officerColumbia City, Indiana
Thomas A. Feusse, chief executive officerDublin, Ohio
Ronald J. Freeman, retired executivePortland, Indiana
Richard D. Merillat, retired executiveNaples, Florida
Sue E. Miller, business ownerMiddlebury, Indiana
Jeanné Wickens, chief financial officerRoanoke, Indiana
Matthew M. Wilcox*, business ownerAndrews, Indiana
Term Expires 2025 
Lars P. Andersen, physicianSaint Johns, Michigan
Thomas A. Clounie, business ownerHuntington, Indiana
Brooks L. Fetters*, chief marketing and development officerHuntington, Indiana
Todd H. Fetters*, bishopHuntington, Indiana
Rae A. Gonterman, retired executiveRoanoke, Indiana
Adrian L. Halverstadt, attorneyHuntington, Indiana
Dalton M. Jenkins*, senior pastor/controllerYonkers, New York
Nancy K. Lamport, retired business personPeoria, Illinois
Monte J. Lightner, principalRoanoke, Indiana
Kristi L. McConnell*, project architectCaledonia, Michigan
Brian D. Nofzinger*, shareholder, certified public accountantBlissfield, Michigan
Martin T. Pennington*, lead pastorNorthwood, Ohio
Ryan M. Warner, retired executiveHuntington, Indiana
Term Expires 2026 
Robert L. Caley, business owner/farmerMarkle, Indiana
Candace E. Curie, business ownerGaithersburg, Maryland
Dennis R. Miller, senior pastorFort Wayne, Indiana
C. Robin Wright, senior vice presidentColumbia City, Indiana
*Higher Education Leadership Team of the Church of the United Brethren in Christ.
Chairman Emeriti
Donald L. Duff, retired executiveHuntertown, Indiana
C. Ray Miller, retired bishopFort Wayne, Indiana
Kelly K. Savage, retired executiveGrandville, Michigan
Trustees Emeriti
Ronald P. Baker, retired physicianBerrien Springs, Michigan
Carol A. Clark, retired physicianOrange Beach, Alabama
Larry L. Lance, retired executiveFort Wayne, Indiana
Paul E. Lehman, retired executiveChambersburg, Pennsylvania
Emmett W. Lippe, retired superintendent/chief executive officerHarrison, Michigan
David N. McGinnis, business ownerAda, Michigan
Kenneth W. Savage, accountantGrandville, Michigan
Nancy L. Stouffer, business executiveMoneta, Virginia
Thomas L. Tyler, retired presidentGranger, Indiana
Howard A. Whaley, retired executiveCastle Rock, Colorado
Honorary Trustee
Phillip G. Howard, retired business executiveFranklin, Indiana